quick peg question

• Discuss quick peg question in the BMX Bike Tech forum in area BMX-Forum Community; newbie here. I want to start learning grinds, the rear peg just goes on without a washer correct? what about the front? it has a washer/slammer thing... ...
D

Dropsonde

quick peg question post #1
newbie here. I want to start learning grinds, the rear peg just goes on without a washer correct? what about the front? it has a washer/slammer thing that makes sure the axle is nicely seating in the dropout, what do I do with it? one peg has a recessed edge and a bigger opening

2WheelPride

2WheelPride

quick peg question post #2
Are these pegs that came with your bike or something? And you should run a washer in the rear pg inside the peg though.

Marcelwk

Marcelwk

quick peg question post #3
And you should run a washer in the rear pg inside the peg though.
Why? I always run them with a washer between the peg and the frame/fork and without washers between the peg and the axle nut. Works fine..

J

johnny homeless

quick peg question post #4
do you mean shims? like the front wheel has a 10mm and the back wheel has a 14mm axle and both pegs are 14mm? if that's what you mean then you need to run the shim on the front axle.

if you mean normal washers, i run them inside the pegs, with my pegs slammed against the frame/fork drop outs.

2WheelPride

2WheelPride

quick peg question post #5
Why? I always run them with a washer between the peg and the frame/fork and without washers between the peg and the axle nut. Works fine..
Because the point of the washer is to allow you to tighten down the nut better. The way you described will just give your peg more leverage to bend your axle, unless your washer has a >/= outer diameter as compared to your peg in which case it's still pointless.

Pickles

Pickles

quick peg question post #6
washer between the peg and dropout,washer between the bolt and peg. thats a given. always.