new stem.

• Discuss new stem. in the Street Riding forum in area BMX-Forum Community; hey, i was riding on Sunday and was finding that my stem wasn't gripping my bars at all, i had to stop and sort em out every 30 seconds, i tried... ...
lewiss

lewiss

new stem. post #1
hey,

i was riding on Sunday and was finding that my stem wasn't gripping my bars at all, i had to stop and sort em out every 30 seconds, i tried tightening it more but to no real success.

so I'm in the market for a new stem, and was wandering what type would be best fore me (top loader/front loader etc) I'll be riding street and park most of the time.

also i was finding that i was feeling landings in my arms ALOT, if anyone could help me on this one as well, it's probably something wrong with my style, but could be my set up or something?? (I'm fairly new to this, so bear with me)

my current stem came on my DK six pack back in 03 or 04 if that makes any difference, and is a chunky looking front loader8).

aaalso, could some one give me the pros and cons of using the different types of stems, and if the weight of them hugely effects how much they grip etc??

thanks alot, lewis.

E RaK

E RaK

new stem. post #2
before you buy anything, try sanding any paint that might be left on the little bumps on your bars and sand any paint off the inside of the stem where it grips your bars.

as for top/front load, there isnt much difference in clamping force, just where the force is located. It is mostly personal preference.

With your hard landigs, try to absorb more of the impact of the landing with your whole body. dont land as stiff as a board or else ou will feel it in your arms and wrists. Also, remeber to stretch before you ride, as that may help a bit.