Is this bike strong enough to support me?!?

• Discuss Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? in the General BMX Forum forum in area BMX-Forum Community; Hi, I am 31 years old and recently became interested in BMX after many years of being out of the loop. Back in the day, I had a Diamond Back... ...
  • Tags bike bikes bmx bmx bike pro bmx
S

Scot from S.C.

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #1
Hi,

I am 31 years old and recently became interested in BMX after many years of being out of the loop. Back in the day, I had a Diamond Back Hotstreak, a bike that I recently found out that they do not even make anymore! Anyway, I am a competitive weight lifter/body builder. I am 5'9" and I weigh 275 in the off season. My question is, will a basic BMX bike support my weight? I am thinking about one of Hoffman's bikes, maybe an Alias Pro or a Condor Star if I am broke after buying Christmas gifts. I figured that as long as it has a Chromoly frame and decent rims, I should be okay. I used to be mainly a flatlander, so I don't really worry about breaking a frame from excessive heights (although I have been known to jump a few ramps.) On that note, are there any big guys who ride? Am I too heavy for BMX?

E

EasternBMX

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #2
yeah it will hold

I

infantry43RIDER

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #3
yea no problem.

S

sentaafEQpovar

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #4
if any bike parts brake, i highly doubt it will be the frame, even if its an aluminum racing frame

O

oibmxpunx

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #5
i hate wen this happens some one delet this

O

oibmxpunx

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #6
theres some big guys that ride come on like at rob-o (owner of fit bikes/pro bmxer) so u should be fine man good luck

B

BioHazard

Is this bike strong enough to support me?!? post #7
I wouldn't worry about the frame so much.