How I learned to 180 bunnyhop

• Discuss How I learned to 180 bunnyhop in the Beginners / New to BMX forum in area BMX-Forum Community; Just thought I would share how I learned to 180 bunnyhop in case others may need a few more tips. About a month ago I started riding after being off... ...
kbfprivate

kbfprivate

How I learned to 180 bunnyhop post #1
Just thought I would share how I learned to 180 bunnyhop in case others may need a few more tips.

About a month ago I started riding after being off a bike for 15 years. I saw a BMX demo and was determined to learn a few tricks, starting with the 180 bunnyhop. I knew how to bunnyhop over a curb, but that was the extent of it. I practiced about 1 hour each day, 4-5 days a week. After about 1.5 months, I landed it for the first time. It was a little sketchy, but I didn't touch the ground and was able to roll out after a turn around. If I had to give some advice, I would give the following:

- Watch all the 180 bunnyhop videos on YouTube. This will motivate you to go out even though you still fall 100% of the time.
- Practice for at least 30 - 60 minutes every time you go out. You'll be tired and sore, but your body will adjust to it. My lower back and forearms were sore for 2 weeks straight, but now they don't get sore anymore. I found that any longer than that wasn't really productive. I was too tired. (this may also be because I am 27 and not 15)
- If you injure yourself or feel like a muscle is really tweaked, take days off until it is fully healed. I didn't do this the first time and had a tweaked knee for 1 week. After that, I had to fight the temptation to go out, but it was worth it.
- Even if when you start, you can only turn 90 degrees, understand with practice you will get to the 180 degree mark. I was at 90 - 120 degrees for about 1 week. It was frustrating, but eventually you find out how to turn the remainder.