Brake choices?

• Discuss Brake choices? in the BMX Bike Tech forum in area BMX-Forum Community; I have a GT raider (or asume i do because of the sticker on the frame) anyways, i have a really crappy brake setup (tektro bx20) and i was wondering... ...
  • Tags bike gt shop
U

UltimX

Brake choices? post #1
I have a GT raider (or asume i do because of the sticker on the frame) anyways, i have a really crappy brake setup (tektro bx20) and i was wondering what other brake setups out there are of higher quality? I had the brake setup for a while but it seems really crappy because it hasn't been long enough. Maybe 6 months or less and it broke. First the return spring for one of the brake arms broke off. then i started riding the bike for a while while i looked for a return spring and found nothing. Now the cable is coming apart (threads) so now i have to buy a new one. But I heard u brakes are better so i was wondering if u brakes will work with the gt raider that i have? I think originally the bike had a linear brake setup but i can't remember. So would U brakes such as tektro fx or something fit? I'm not sure if it would because it looks pretty compact. I use my brakes a lot and have had the cable snap 3 times since i had it. I don't know too much about the newer products so i would like your input. I just want something that lasts for a while instead of 6 months or less. Thanks for your help.

BTW, sorry for the long novel.

U

UltimX

Brake choices? post #2
I didn't mean the fx i meant the odyssey evolver... Thanks

F

federal_rider12

Brake choices? post #3
you cant put U brakes on V brake mounts. but i have to say tektro brakes are the best ive ever had and i wont change i might be buying the fx20. and as of the cable splitting thats what v brakes do they kink the cable so much and put so much force on the cable that it splits but they stop nicely

U

UltimX

Brake choices? post #4