Assemblying my brakes - help?!

• Discuss Assemblying my brakes - help?! in the BMX Bike Tech forum in area BMX-Forum Community; Hey! I'm new to this forum and I'm also new to bmx-bikes. I got my new Haro bike today and I've got problems assemblying it! Especially the brakes... ...
  • Tags bike gt
B

bakalla

Assemblying my brakes - help?! post #1
Hey!

I'm new to this forum and I'm also new to bmx-bikes. I got my new Haro bike today and I've got problems assemblying it! Especially the brakes are tricky. I managed to install the front brake and most of the rear brakes. But I can't fit the rear wires into the brakes properly. I got two pictures of it so you can see the problem. One side of the rear brake doesn't move at all :( How do I get the rear brake to work?? Help!

To clarify, the actual brake pads are not moving. I can get the one on the right side to move, but not the one on the left! Since there is only one cable coming from the front part of the bike, how do I get that one cable to move both brake pads?

Clutch

Clutch

Assemblying my brakes - help?! post #2
Ummm, I have no idea what you are trying to do... Are you wanting a dual cable setup or just a single?

If you want to run two cables ie: if you are running a gryo you should have two cables, if not you can run one straight. But you'll need an adapter(If you are running a straight cable) for the one brake arm on thos Tektros of your.

Showing pictures is cool and all, but we also need to know what you are wanting to do, and whether or not you have a gyro etc etc.

PS: That cable in the one pic is bent pretty nicely, you really want to keep them pretty straight, and where is the outer shell of it?

Uhg, I really have to get going to work... Sorry I wish I could have been more help.

B

bakalla

Assemblying my brakes - help?! post #3
Clutch said:
Ummm, I have no idea what you are trying to do... Are you wanting a dual cable setup or just a single?.